What's new
Tiki Forum

Aloha!
Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox! Join our Tiki Community today!

Navy, Captain, Military Attire I see at Tiki Events and Bars?

Hello All - I'm a newbie :) I asked a buddy of mine about a jacket I had acquired that looks pretty similar to a captains Blazer. I was exited at first as I thought it went along with the the pop culture of tiki. I was surprised to hear that it in fact does not fit in the tiki culture. Why do I see so much of it at Tiki Bars and events?

It’s getting more and more difficult to separate beach themes and Tiki. For an insightful look at Tiki take a look at The book of Tiki by Sven Kirsten. I think each person can decide for themselves how they want their Tiki bar to look, but it is slowly being diluted with parrots, neon signs and jimmy buffet.

Welcome to the forum!

Mahalo for posting!

Nothing like diving in at the deep end.
I've been trying to work out what makes something Tiki. Sven is so so insightful as to what out is.
It used to be so much simpler I guess when it was back forgotten and niche. Now its got so big that folk that build bars at home or commercially add stuff that isnt Tiki but as they are in to them they adopt this. Be it Star Wars or some other strain of pop culture or even what gets called Clown Tiki (Bright and Tacky).
Its become big business to gratify those new scenes too. So it's easy to blur the lines. I'm guilty of that in some respect too. "Tiki Adjacent" is probably a good phrase for this. For me its simpler the stuff in my bar that isnt tiki, isnt tiki. There will be a story to why its there but its not Tiki.